Educational Learning Game

The game I have chosen to use in a secondary ELA setting is SimCiy BuildIt. Finding an online learning game that I felt would be effective in a 7-12 setting was quite difficult. Although, after being in a ninth grade English classroom, I observed students learning how to contruct a thesis statement, as well as backing that up with supporting evidence. I feel that SimCity BuildIt will be effective because students will be obligated to make decisions for the city they are building. I can use that as a way for students to make a claim for why they are building something, and support it with three reasons as to how it will help their city. By using “The MindShift Guide to Digital Games and Learning” I reflected on two different questions that chapter three posed: first, “How and when can the game be used?” and second, “What kind of game is best suited to particular learning objectives?”. Furthermore, when deciding on SimCity BuildIt I made sure that I could answer these two questions and know that this game would be effective in a classroom setting.

My experience playing SimCity BuildIt was fun and easy to learn. With step by step instructions, I was guided to build roads, neighborhood, and more. The first task I had to do was attach a road to the nearest highway so people could get to my city.

IMG_7742.PNGAfter I was told what to do, I was guided by flashing icons for me to click on, and how to place the road in the desired place. I am not familiar with this version of Sims, so the detailed instructions and learning the objectives were helpful. This allowed me to think of a way I can apply this in a classroom setting. If I were to create worksheets that aligned with what was being asked, I could relate the game to something in class. For example, I thought I could ask students to contruct a thesis statement that would include if they agree or disagree that attaching their city to a highway is effective. They would then follow their claim with three reasons why they are making that decision. This is similar to what I observed the other day at Cleveland Heights High School in a ninth grade setting.

Following this, I was taught how to build neighborhoods and a local supply store. Next, I was told:

IMG_7743.PNGThis was great. Not only does it relate to real world issues, but it allows me to choose what I want for my city based on what I believe is more beneficial. This is another great way for students to create a thesis statement with reasons why they choose one or the other. Also, in the top right corner there are coins and dollars. Coins are used to buy things like a Wind Power Plant or a Coal Power Plant, while dollars can be used to speed up the process of building. This can help students learn management skills, and learn how to earn more coins or dollar bills.

Overall, I feel that SimsCity BuildIt is a great interactive, learning game that can be applied many different ways in the classroom. With step by step instructions, the ability to play in and out of the classroom, and realtions to the outside world, I think it could be effective in a classroom setting. My experience with the game was postivie and entertaining, as I was given many choices to build my city the way I see best fit.

2 thoughts on “Educational Learning Game”

  1. I really enjoyed reading about your blog about your video game! I think sims is a great game because it really gives students the chance to be creative. In your description it seems as if the gamer gets to design the sim world. That is so cool and really will let students express their creativity by designing a world. When good games give learners the chance to be creative, it really can benefit their overall learning experience. They are able to be their own person as well as think outside box. This game also seems to lead to player identity. By designing the sim world, it really seems to be able to enhance a player’s identity which is also another key factor in the video game exploration.

    Like

    1. I also found this an enjoyable read! Aside from the elements that Katie highlighted, I think that your connection to the game and thesis construction is magnificent. While the game may not be directly teaching students how to construct a thesis statement, as you pointed out it is challenging students to have solid arguments for how and why they built their city. So, not only are they able to have a space to create and feel a sense of agency, they are also learning valuable skills in terms of argumentative writing. It would be very cool to have students build there city completely, and then write an argumentative paper about the effectiveness of their city design! This way, the students are building for a purpose, and towards a goal that is both connected to the game and their learnings in the classroom outside of the game! This game clearly has a lot of potential in a high school english class!

      Like

Leave a comment

Kevin's ED 386 Blog

Looking at technolgy's impact on educaion

Lizzy's ED 386 Blog

This blog is about education, technology, and how they connect.

Katie Flanders Ed 386

This site is about school and technology

Chloe's ED 386 Blog

Exploring the field of education through the lens of technology

ED 386 Emily Bordley

JCU Education (School, Society, and Technology)

Joe's 386 Blog

The Cadillac of Education Blogs (not really though)

Clark's Corner

Using technology to learn about technology, linking it with the field of education

Jacob's ED 386 Blog

The Whole Education Thing

Maggie's Education Blog

A Young Girl's Thoughts on Education

Educational Technology

Kathleen’s ED 386 Blog - Fall 2019

Taylor's Blog

Education Class